off to warJune 21, 2006 prev/next


Dear River,

How does one properly say good bye to someone who is going off to war? I've given this a lot of thought, and some how,"have a nice trip" doesn't quite cut it.

I wish I could better tell you good bye. But this isn't good bye. It's a "see ya later" sort of thing.

It breaks my heart to know that today was the last time I'll speak with you for a long time, if not forever...

Please please please be careful. I don't want to lose you. Not for this. Not for some unknown reason. Don't be brave, bravery only gets you killed. Do what you have to and come home safe and sound.

I will be so angry with you if I get your tags in the mail and have to fly out of state for your funeral!

To think that you could never come back to me scares me beyond all reason. I can't put it into words. There aren't enough tears in me to cry for you if you do leave me.

But no matter what happens, know that I love you so very much. There isn't a thing about you that I don't adore. Even the way you push my buttons and piss me off better than anyone I know. I know you only do it because it forces me to look at myself as I really am, and you love me as I really am. I thank you for that. We will always be the best of friends.

You will be in my thoughts and prayers constantly. A moment won't go by that I won't wonder if you're alright.

I love you. Be safe, be careful.


Yours Forever,

Kit.




indexarchiveaboutfacebookdland