crystallineMay 7, 2010 prev/next


I took pictures of everything, then. Not because the tangibility of it all wasn't enough, but because everything, dogwoods to bumble bees to the way the sun stabs at four thirty traffic, deserves immortality. Everyone wants to highlight beauty, wants to find it in quaint, unlikely places; to confine it in any form of snapshot-- with only the hot vivid poetry of its framework in your hands.


I want to believe that I'm capable of beauty, that I can find it and amplify it through a lens or with a staggering pen. I may have lost touch with others and with myself, but I never lose touch with my surroundings. The world has so many voluptuous peaks, and there is a sensuality in how chaotic it all is: volcanoes and upheaval. Boys in black eyeliner and elongated gashes in planets, comets and their fizzling trails and lovers who count freckles through tendrils of light peeking through the window.


I won't lose touch with this, not ever. No matter how tainted my lens, my eyes, they're crystalline.


indexarchiveaboutfacebookdland