the hierarchy of needs.April 30, 2010 prev/next


It is 2 a.m. when I receive her phone call from New Orleans. She is crying in a bar and she says "I love you, I miss you, why did you have to leave me? I need you here, come back."

It is hours later, at 6 p.m. my time, 7 p.m. his. He calls me and says "Hurry and come to Virginia, I miss your warm body in my bed, I need to see you, I sit around all day thinking of you, I need you here, come here."

It is 9 p.m. when he, another he, shoves me against the door and screams "GET OUT! JUST FUCKING GET OUT!" and I cry out of shock and he sits on the floor and cries and I hold him and rub my hands on his back while he soaks my shoulder until it is sopping wet with his tears.

A friend, my heart & a past love.

It is the roles we take on as human beings that ultimately dehumanize us.


indexarchiveaboutfacebookdland