Like socks seperated in the laundry..April 11, 2010 prev/next


It�s past two a.m. now and I know I really should go to sleep, but I just got off the phone with you and I�m too excited, I�ve got too much happiness running through my mind, for closed eyes to do any good. I can�t seem to stop thinking about you and our love.

And yet something is different.

I don�t have the nervous, giddy butterflies in my stomach when you cross my mind, like has happened when I�ve thought of special people in the past. I don�t feel that certain thrill of anxiety in my heart when I consider our relationship.

No, this is different.

When I think of you, I feel warm and comfortable and my trust for you � for us � is complete. Gone is the surge of adrenaline that the suggestion of romance has brought me in the past and I am left with something so much more lasting and true. So much more mature.

I never feel I must hint around until you take me in your arms. Instead, I hold you close in an embrace of my own � one that I smile as I feel you return. We balance each other perfectly, returning to equilibrium when one of us begins to teeter off balance. I feel like we are ideal partners and I know that you are my closest friend. I cherish the love and inspiration you bring into my life every day.

I was contemplating the idea of soul mates the other night � whether God set us loose on the world in broken pairs, like socks separated in the laundry, desperate to find their match. I doubt it. To me it seems much more likely that any random grab into my sock drawer will produce a pair that will suffice � for a while at least. Some, like you and me, I think, just fit better than others.

So while I�m skeptical about the role of destiny in the romantic escapades of the word�s population, I can�t deny that some amazingly good things have happened to me in my short life. Not least of these is finding, and falling in love with, you. And so while I sincerely doubt that you were created with a �property of Miranda� tag hung around your neck, I do know that things have the uncanny tendency to turn out for the best � and you�re the best friend and lover that I�ve ever had.

And tonight, like every night as I scrub my face and get ready for bed, I thank God for you, whatever His involvement, and I thank you for the beautiful, loving relationship that makes it possible for me to tell you so.


indexarchiveaboutfacebookdland