Layers..June 26, 2006 prev/next


When I was in kindergarden, my teacher had these scarves for us to play with. At least a hundred sheer, irridescent scarves, in the most beautiful shades I'd ever seen. They were my favorite thing to play with. I swirled them around me and I was a sorceress, even then.

When I think of my soul, I think of those scarves, they looked when I draped them all, one on top of the other, loosely draped together across my arms, stood on a chair, and let them fall. Soft, airy, graceful and beautiful, drifting slowly through the water which lies between each scarf. Each layer is completely different.

Some are shimmering, some eternally changing, as if lit by Christmas-tree lights, never the same pattern twice. Some simply twinkle, like little tiny specks of glitter have melded into the fabric. The entire thing is soggy as if with fresh rainwater and yet airy because it's floating without strings tying it down.

The bottom layers are magical. They know and can do things that can't be explained. They also feel things that can't be explained. Some of them are as dark as bitter chocolate. Some of them frighten me because they're so...vibrantly, pulsatingly dark. Like the ocean waters near the vents in the seafloor. Dark, full of life, and yet frightening and not entirely of this world. A very apt description, because I am not entirely of this world.

I cannot walk on water until I understand those layers. I cannot understand them until I'm mature enough to. I will not be mature enough until I can separate myself from society, go be completely alone, and make myself explore them. And I cannot do that until I learn not to be afraid of them.




indexarchiveaboutfacebookdland